Veterans Court

Presiding Judge: Darren Murphy

Program Co-Coordinators: Mary Boatright-Reese and Michael Logar

The Hamilton Veterans Court began in February 2015 by Judge William J. Hughes, as an alternative to traditional case processing of military veterans. In 2023, the Hamilton County Veterans Court moved to Supreme Court 7 with Judge Darren Murphy. It is a partnership among Hamilton County Superior Court 7, U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, and Hamilton County Law Enforcement, Prosecutor, Defense Attorneys, Probation Department and Community Corrections, that attempts to break the criminal pattern of veterans by involving them in an intense, multiphase treatment program; frequent substance abuse & alcohol testing; intense monitoring; significant education; participation in Community programs; and frequent appearances before the Veterans Court Judge. The Veterans Court Program lasts 14–24 months, depending on the veteran’s individual needs.


Authority for the operation of the Hamilton Veterans Court derives from IC 33-23-16.  The Court operates in accordance with these statutes and the Rules for Problem-Solving Courts of the Judicial Conference of Indiana. The Court provides services to offenders eligible under IC 33-23-16 and under the criteria for admission established by the Court.  The court submits to certification procedures & requirements established by the Judicial Conference of Indiana and the Indiana Judicial Center.

National Model

Veterans Court is part of a national judicial model of Problem-Solving Courts that operates on a non-adversarial basis, where the Prosecutor and the Defense work together, with the Presiding Judge, to bring about the best possible result in each case. 


The purpose of this Veterans Court is to improve public safety and save government resources by rehabilitating veterans and helping them become productive, law-abiding citizens that make significant contributions to their community.

Phases of Veterans Court

There are five (5) phases of Veterans Court:

Phase I.         Acute Stabilization  
Phase II.        Clinical Stabilization
Phase III.       Pro-Social Habilitation
Phase IV.       Adaptive Habilitation 
Phase V.         Continuing Care

Detailed information on these phases is contained in the Participant Handbook.

Veterans Court Documents