Child Support

Form of Payment Requirements
Per Indiana Code 31-16-9-1(c), beginning January 1, 2007, the Hamilton County Clerk's Office is to accept only cash payments. Any other forms of payments, with the exception of income-withholding checks, are to be sent to:
Indiana State Central Collection Unit (INSCCU)
P.O. Box 7130
Indianapolis, IN 46207-7130

Employers issuing Income-withholding payments should send those payments to:
Indiana State Central Collection Unit (INSCCU)
P.O. Box 6219
Indianapolis, IN 46206-6219

Important Note
It is imperative that the payor include his/her ISETS case number on each payment. Omission of the ISETS case number will result in a lengthy delay in the disbursement of the Payee's check by the state. While in the past the Hamilton County Clerk's Office would process a payment using the Hamilton County court cause number that was referenced on the payment, that court cause number is insufficient for processing at the state level.

Child Support Line
Do not telephone the Hamilton Clerk's Office for child support payment information. It will not be given over the telephone. The State does have a Child Support line - that number is 800-840-8757 or locally 317-233-5437. When calling it, you will be required to enter your Social Security Number.

Child Support Payments
Most child support payments should be done by income withholding and, as such, these payments should be sent through the State Central Collection Unit in Indianapolis, per Indiana Code 31-16-15-15. (See address above.) These payments, by law, should not be sent through the Hamilton County Clerk's Office. Additionally, the state could assess employers a civil penalty of $25 per obligor per pay period for failure to submit payments through the state.

If a payer makes a cash payment through the Hamilton County Clerk's Office, that payment will be mailed the next business day provided the payment was received into the Office by 11 a.m. Cash payments made after that time will be sent out within 2 business days.

Stopping Payment
If a stop-payment is necessary, or other problem, you may call the Hamilton County Clerk's Office at 317-776-9629 and press "0".

Current Records
It is extremely important that the payer and payee keep their names and addresses current with the Clerk's Office and must be done in writing. Both the old and new name, social security number, address information, and case number must be provided. You must also submit a copy of your driver's license.

Payment History
A printout of your payment history is available from the Clerk's Office. The cost is $0.50. This may be obtained in person from the Clerk's Office upon presentation of identification and can only be given to the custodial parent or non-custodial parent.

Further Information

If you have questions, you may email child support inquiries to the Hamilton County Clerk's office. Use this worksheet to determine obligations: